Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So i sent an .stl file of my figure from the previous post to 3D Print UK asking for a quote on how much it would cost and thought i would share this information as it may be useful to someone.

Although we have a small 3D printer i thought it would be a good idea to see how much something like that would cost if i were to reproduce more to sell as decorative statues. Below is a screenshot of the email they sent back to me within a couple of hours. I think i may explore more designs and hold on until April and ask again. If i’m going to invest money into this i want something perfect!

screenshot3dprinting

I’ve also been thinking about functionality, I want to draw up some ideas of possible uses and how i can link my figure work into functional objects, like candle holders or trinket boxes. For this i think i need to investigate the resin more and think about melting temperatures, durability and possible colours. But that’s not a bad start 🙂